دليل كول هان في مدينة لندن
ماذا تأكل، تُشاهد، وتفعل لقضاء وقت ممتع في العاصمة الإنجليزية.
بقلم آبي مولتون

انتقائية ومتنوعة و مميزة بعض الشيء، تتميز مدينة لندن متعددة الجوانب لها تاريخ حافل من خلال الفن والموسيقى والطعام والهندسة المعمارية. مزيج متنوع الأسلوب و البناء، ستجد منازل تيودور متهالكة ذات إطار خشبي محصورة بين الأبراج الشاهقة الحديثة، حيث ترتفع الأبراج الشاهقة العصرية للتنافس مع أيقونات مثل تاور بريدج و بيج بن للحصول على مساحة من الأفق. على مستوى الشارع، تتصارع القرى الفردية ضد بعضها البعض، وتتسرب عبر الحدود للمطالبة بحصتها من الأرض، ولكل منها طابعها الخاص.

تلتقي التأثيرات من جميع أنحاء العالم في عاصمة الثقافة والصخب النابضة بالحيوية في إنجلترا، لتجمع معًا مجتمعًا عالميًا. تنفجر الكرنفالات بالألوان، وتملأ التوابل الفواحة شوارع بريك لين، وفي بريكستون، منفاخ الدخان من مشاوي الصلب حيث تتصاعد أصوات الأزيز. تتطور باستمرار وتتكيف وتنمو، ولا توجد لحظتان متماثلتان هنا. من أحياء الجاز الجديدة في بيكهام إلى الحياة الليلية في سوهو، وشوارع شورديتش المليئة بالرسومات على الجدران وملاذ التصميم في كليركينويل، إلى قنوات هاكني الهادئة - هناك لندن للجميع. فيما يلي عرض موجز لما تقدمه المدينة.

جميع الرسوم التوضيحية لروس بوب

ماذا سترى

الأيقونة

احصل على هذا الشعور "مباشرة من الأفلام" من خلال التنزه على طول ساوثبانك، وهو ممر ممشى على ضفاف النهر يمتد من جسر البرج في الشرق إلى جسر وستمنستر في الغرب. رائع للمشي الرومانسي أو الجري أثناء مشاهدة المناظر الخلابة، إنه مثير للإعجاب بشكل خاص عند الغسق حيث يتغير لون السماء وتبدأ أضواء المدينة في الوميض. قد تكون نقطة جذب سياحي، ولكن عبور جسر وستمنستر عند الساعة الذهبية عندما يتلألأ الأفق و ترسم ساعة بيج بن ظلاً على التوهج ببساطة هنا يتوقف الزمن.

الوِجهة

اجتاحت الهندسة المعمارية لندن ما بعد الحرب في الخمسينيات من القرن الماضي، مما أدى إلى تشتيت المناظر الطبيعية بخطوط قاسية وأنماط متكررة وهياكل خرسانية خام جاءت لتحديد العقد. نفعية، معادية وفرضية ، قوبلت الحركة باحترام أقل من شعبية، واعتبرها الكثيرون بمثابة بؤرة للعصر. بعد نصف قرن من الزمان، على الرغم من ذلك، تم الاحتفال بها في تقديس وحتى محبة، مع عدد لا يحصى من الكتب والمعارض والمشاريع المخصصة للتصميم. كما بدا واضحاً في الحواف المسننة عبر المدينة، ليس هناك مكان أفضل للبدء من باربيكان.

جديد

سومرست تمت إقامته في قصر كلاسيكي جديد يعود تاريخه إلى القرن الثامن عشر، لكن برنامج الفنون والثقافة فيه عصري بالتأكيد. تقوم مجموعة من الأحداث الديناميكية بتشريح الحاضر وتميل إلى الجديد مع المعارض الأخيرة التي تتناول تغير المناخ وتسليط الضوء على عمل الرواد المبدعين من السود. المركز مكرس أيضًا لرعاية أعمال الفنانين الناشئين. يمكنك العثور على شيء ملهم في التقويم هنا، بغض النظر عن الموسم.

ماذا ستأكل

الأيقونة

يقع في شوارع سيرك أرنولد المحاطة بالأشجار إنه، روشيل كانتين الذي يلخص بهدوء أفضل ما في الطعام البريطاني الحديث: قائمة موسمية تتغير يوميًا تحتفل بأعلى جودة للمنتجات المحلية، وتعامل مع نوع من الطهي اللطيف والرائع الذي يتيح لكل مكون التحدث عن نفسه. تنضم المأكولات البحرية الطازجة التي يتم اصطيادها من الساحل الشرقي للجزيرة إلى الطماطم الصقلية الناضجة، في حين يتم تقديم الفطائر الشهية المليئة بكتف الضأن المطهو ولحم البقر المتغذى على الأعشاب جنبًا إلى جنب مع البطاطا والأعشاب. اترك مساحة لتناول البودينج، أو ربما شريحة مفتتة، لامعة مع الكاسترد. هذه المساحة الخفية من متعة الطهي هو المكان الأمثل للذهاب إليه لتناول طعام الغداء فقط لتجد أنك ما زلت هناك، واثنين من الحلوى و "كأس واحد آخر" من النبيذ لاحقًا، بعد أن خططت للمغادرة فترة طويلة.

الوِجهة

في لندن في قلب منطقة بيكاديللي في مايفير، ولسيلي مبنى رائع، يتميز بالأعمدة الرخامية والمداخل المقنطرة التي تنضح بسحر العصور القديمة. على الرغم من الفخامة، فإن المساحة واسعة وتزدحم بالسكان المحليين والسياح على حد سواء في جميع ساعات اليوم. إنه الإفطار الذي يجتذب الجماهير ولا ينبغي تفويته. يتم تقديم المعجنات اللذيذة والفواكه الطازجة جنبًا إلى جنب مع المزيد من الأطباق الوفيرة مثل الخبز المحمص الفرنسي الرقيق والبيض بنديكت و "الإنجليز": البيض ولحم الخنزير المقدد والسجق والفاصوليا المطبوخة والطماطم والحلوى السوداء والفطر. يُفضل تقديمه مع إبريق شاي و جريدة الصباح.

جديد

استحوذ عماد الأرنب على قلوب سكان لندن بسلسلة من نوافذ البيع قبل انتشار الوباء. لا عجب في أنه كان يدير ثلاثة مطاعم في دمشق، قبل أن يجبره تدميرها في الحرب الأهلية السورية على الفرار. سافر إلى المملكة المتحدة عبر كاليه، وقام بالطهي للاجئين على طول الطريق، ووجد الراحة في قدرة الطعام على التقريب بين الناس. من مساحته الدائمة الجديدة في سوهو كينغلي كورت، يتميز مطبخ عماد السوري بأطباق نابضة بالحياة معدة للمشاركة، مثل كريمة بابا غنوج المغطاة ببذور الرمان وفتة مكدوس المميزة بلحم الضأن المفروم. تكريمًا لرحلته، يتبرع عماد بمبلغ 1 جنيه إسترليني من كل فاتورة لجمعية اللاجئين الخيرية Choose Love.

ماذا ستفعل

الأيقونة

يقع في شرق لندن طريق كولومبيا السينمائي الذي يعود تاريخه إلى ستينيات القرن التاسع عشر ولا يزال صف المتاجر والمنازل الفيكتورية جزءًا مزدهرًا من الحياة المحلية. يكون ساكناً وهادئًا خلال الأسبوع ،و ينبض بالحياة في موجة من الأصوات والألوان خلال سوق الزهور يوم الأحد. مقايضة مثل السكان المحليين بالأزهار الموسمية والتقط بعض الكلمات العامية القافية - فقط لا تنس "الخبز والعسل" (اقرأ: المال) لأن الأكشاك هي عبارة عن نقود فقط.

الوِجهة

نوتنج هيل هي موطن للعديد من الميوز: و هي ساحات فناء مرصوفة بالحصى محاطة بمنازل متدرجة ومداخل مقنطرة. تم بناء هذه الأسطبلات في الأصل كإسطبلات للخيول والعربات التي نقلت سكان لندن من المجتمع الراقي في الماضي، وقد تم تحويلها إلى مساكن مرغوبة للعصور المعاصرة - وهي بالتأكيد تستحق الزيارة للحصول على صور جميلة ببطاقات بريدية. من الواجهات المشرقة ذات الألوان الفاتحة، إلى الكريمة الأنيقة والحديد المطاوع، المؤطرة بالورود واللبلاب الأخضر، هناك العديد من التصاميم التي يمكنك أن تلفت نظرك. جذابة ولطيفة وجوهرية باللغة الإنجليزية اتبع خريطتك إلى كولفيل ميوز و شرفة دينبي و أوستن ميوز وهايد بارك جاردن ميوز لتشاهد بعض من أفضل المعالم السياحية.

جديد

تنتشر إعادة إحياء موسيقى الجاز في جميع أنحاء المدينة وخارجها، على الرغم من أن جذورها تكمن بقوة في جنوب شرق لندن، حيث تصعد ألحان الساكس والأوتار المفعمة بالحيوية من خلف العديد من الأبواب. يقود حركة الجاز الجديدة جيل الشباب، وتتخطى الحدود من خلال العمل بشكل تعاوني وتضمين التأثيرات عبر الأنواع لإنتاج صوت جديد فريد. للاستماع إلى الأعمال الراسخة وكذلك الأسماء الصاعدة، توجه إلى CLF Art Lounge في بيكهام و Roof Garden. مع الحفلات المنتظمة في صالة الكوكتيل المليئة بالحيوية، ذات الطراز الحديث، وجلسات الجاز الحية والروح الأسبوعية على السطح كل يوم أحد، إنه مكان للجلوس والاسترخاء والسماح للموسيقى بالتحدث.

العودة إلى الأعلى

نشكرك لإشتراكك معنا!

الآن: انقر فوق "إنشاء حساب" أدناه، و سرعان ما ستكون عضوًا.

Enjoy Free Shipping On Orders Value Above 800 SR

The Cole Haan Guide to London
What to eat, see, and do for a bloody good time in England’s capital.
By Abbie Moulton

Eclectic, diverse, and a little eccentric, London is a truly multifaceted city with history pulsing through its art, music, food, and architecture. A sprawling patchwork of style and structure, you’ll find rickety timber-framed Tudor houses sandwiched between modernist tower blocks, as neo-futurist high-rises soar to compete with icons like Tower Bridge and Big Ben for a slice of the skyline. At street level, individual villages jostle against one another, spilling across boundaries to claim their share of territory, each with its own character.

Influences from all corners of the world converge in England’s lively capital of culture and revelry, bringing together a global community. Carnivals explode with color, fragrant spice fills the streets of Brick Lane, and, in Brixton, smoke bellows from steel grills where jerk c hicken sizzles. Constantly evolving, adapting and growing, no two moments are the same here. From the new-jazz quarters of Peckham to the nightlife of Soho, the graffiti-drenched streets of Shoreditch and the design haven of Clerkenwell, to the soothing canalways of Hackney—there’s a London for everyone. Here’s a capsule curation of what the city has to offer.

All Illustrations by Russ Pope

What to See

Icon

Get that “straight from the movies” feeling with a stroll along the Southbank, the iconic riverside walkway that stretches from Tower Bridge in the east to Westminster Bridge in the west. Great for a romantic walk or a scenic run, it’s particularly impressive at dusk as the sky changes colour and the city lights begin to glimmer. It might be a tourist hotspot, but crossing Westminster Bridge at golden hour when the skyline twinkles and Big Ben is silhouetted against the glow simply never gets old.

Go-To

Brutalist architecture swept through post-war London in the 1950s, scattering the landscape with harsh lines, repeating patterns, and raw concrete structures that came to define the decade. Utilitarian, hostile and imposing, the movement was met with less-than-popular regard, considered by many as the era’s eyesore. Half a century on, though, it’s held in reverence and even affection, with countless books, exhibitions and projects dedicated to the design. Visible in the jagged edges across the city, there’s no better place to get initiated than The Barbican.

Newbi

Somerset House may reside in a neoclassical palace dating back to the 18th century, but its arts and culture program is decidedly futuristic. A line-up of dynamic events dissect the now and lean into the new with recent exhibitions addressing climate change and highlighting the work of Black creative pioneers. The center is also dedicated to nurturing work by emerging artists. You can find something inspiring on the calendar here, no matter the season.

What to Eat

Icon

Tucked in the leafy streets of Arnold Circus, Rochelle Canteen quietly epitomises the very best of modern British dining: a seasonal menu that changes daily celebrates the highest quality local produce, treated to the kind of gentle but masterful cooking that lets each ingredient speak for itself. Freshly caught seafood from the island’s east coast joins plump Sicilian tomatoes, while hearty pies filled with braised lamb shoulder and grass-fed beef are served alongside buttery potatoes and herbs. Leave room for pudding, or perhaps a slice of crumble, glossy with custard. This hidden courtyard of culinary pleasure is the kind of place you go for lunch only to find that you’re still there, two desserts and “just one more glass” of wine later, long after you’d planned to leave.

Go-To

A London institution in the heart of Mayfair’s Piccadilly, The Wolseley is a grand affair, all marble pillars and decadent archways that ooze old-time glamor. Despite the grandeur, the space is welcoming and bustles with locals and tourists alike at all hours of the day. It’s breakfast that draws the crowds, though, and it’s not to be missed. Delicate pastries and freshly cut fruits are on offer alongside more plentiful dishes like fluffy French toast, Eggs Benedict, and “The English”: eggs, bacon, sausage, baked beans, tomato, black pudding, and mushrooms. Best served with a pot of tea and the morning paper.

Newbi

Imad Alarnab won the hearts of Londoners with a series of pop-ups prior to the pandemic. No small wonder: he ran three restaurants in Damascus, before their destruction in the Syrian civil war forced him to flee. Traveling to the UK via Calais, he cooked for refugees along the way, finding comfort in the ability of food to bring people together. From his new permanent space in Soho’s Kingly Court, Imad’s Syrian Kitchen features vibrant dishes made for sharing, like creamy Baba Ghanoj topped with pomegranate seeds and his signature Fattet Macdous with minced lamb. To honor his journey, Imad donates £1 from every bill to refugee charity Choose Love.

What to Do

Icon

East London’s cinematic Columbia Road dates back to the 1860s and the row of Victorian shops and houses is still a thriving part of local life. Sleepy and serene during the week, it bursts to life in a flurry of sound and color during the Sunday flower market. Barter like a local for seasonal blooms and pick up some cockney rhyming slang—just don’t forget the “bread and honey” (read: money) as the stalls are cash only.

Go-To

Notting Hill is home to many a mews: cobbled courtyards flanked by terraced houses and gated archways. Originally built as stables for the horse-and-carriages that transported high-society Londoners of the past, these mews have been converted to covetable abodes for the contemporary times—and they’re definitely worth a visit for postcard-pretty photos. From bright, pastel facades, to elegant cream and wrought iron, framed with flowers and green ivy, there are numerous styles to swoon over. Quaint, cute and quintessentially English, follow your map to Coleville Mews, Denbigh Terrace, Osten Mews, and Hyde Park Garden Mews for some of the best sights.

Newbi

The rebirth of jazz ripples out across the city and beyond, though its roots lay firmly in South East London, where the soulful melodies of sax and strings ascend from behind many doors. The new jazz movement is spearheaded by a younger generation, pushing boundaries by working collaboratively and incorporating cross-genre influences to carve out a unique new sound. To hear established acts as well as up-and-coming names, head to Peckham’s CLF Art Lounge and Roof Garden. With regular gigs in the sultry, speakeasy-style cocktail lounge, and weekly live jazz and soul sessions on the roof every Sunday, it’s a place to sit back, relax, and let the music do the talking.

Back to top

Thanks for signing up!

Now: Click “Create Account” below, and you’ll be a member before you know it.