دليل كول هان في مدينة نيويورك
We sat down with the creative polymath, and illustrator of our newest #WriteNewRules campaign, to discuss his process, the rules he lives by, and the place in Paris he’s missed most.
بقلم سارة خان

تشتهر نيويورك بالمدينة التي لا تنام أبدًا، ولكن ما هو الشيء المحدد في نيويورك الذي يرسم لوحة حركية في أي ساعة من النهار أو الليل؟ هل هو الأفق، المتلألئ في الشمس إلى الأبد أو المضاء في عرض مكهرب بعد حلول الظلام؟ هل هم الناس الذين يخطون شوارعها الواسعة بقصد بغض النظر عن الساعة؟ أو ربما يكون مجرد شيء غير ملموس غارق في جوها، كما تكهن سيمون دي بوفوار ذات مرة: "هناك شيء ما في هواء نيويورك يجعل النوم عديم الفائدة".

إذن، كيف يجب أن تقضي بضعة أيام بلا نوم في نيويورك هذا الخريف؟ لدينا بعض الأفكار.

جميع الرسوم التوضيحية لروس بوب

ماذا سترى

الأيقونة

"عندما كنت في الخامسة من عمري، ذهبت إلى روضة الأطفال، وفي روضة الأطفال كان لدينا تمرين حيث كان من المفترض أن نرسم بعض الرسم الذي يحمل طابع عيد الفصح. أتذكر عندما كنت في الخامسة من عمري رسمت هذا الأرنب. جاءت أمي لاصطحابي. يسلمك المعلم - حرفياً يسلمك باليد إلى والدتك - ويقول ، "راسل، هو فنان رائع حقًا. انظر إلى رسم الأرنب الجميل هذا، هذا الأرنب الذي رسمه. "وكنت مثل، أنا فنان ... لقد قاله للتو، أنا فنان تمامًا."

الوِجهة

مع مليوني قدم مربع لاستكشافها، يمكنك العودة إلى متحف متروبوليتان للفنون اثنتي عشرة مرة وما زلت تكتشف روائع لم تصادفها من قبل. هذا الخريف، بالإضافة إلى الاطلاع على المفضلات القديمة مثل الفن المصري والمعارض الإسلامية، وفر الكثير من الوقت لتصفح معرض الأزياء الجديد: "في أمريكا: معجم الموضة". سيأخذ هذا المعرض الذي انتظره بفارغ الصبر نظرة عميقة في تاريخ صناعة الملابس في البلاد.

جديد

نزل سكان نيويورك في المساحات الخارجية للمدينة بأعداد غير مسبوقة خلال الوباء، وفي هذا الربيع حصلوا على مكان جديد لامتصاص أشعة الشمس: ليتل آيلاندحديقة عامة مذهلة تحوم فوق نهر هدسون عند الرصيف 55. المشروع الذي تبلغ تكلفته 260 مليون دولار - صممه المهندس المعماري البريطاني الشهير توماس هيذرويك في الأصل - استغرق إعداده سنوات، لكن النتيجة كانت تستحق العناء. تأكد من مراجعة الجدول الزمني الخاص بهم للحصول على أحدث المعلومات حول العروض الخارجية، أو مجرد الذهاب في نزهة عبر الحدائق النباتية.

ماذا ستأكل

الأيقونة

احصل على بداية مناسبة في نيويورك لعطلة نهاية الأسبوع مع وجبة الإفطار الكلاسيكية: الخبز مع لوكس وشمير. قد يقودك الخط الذي يتسلل إلى أسفل الكتلة إلى التساؤل عما إذا كنت قد عثرت على شخص مغرور صاخب يتجه حديثًا مع مجموعة تيك توك، ولكن في الواقع كان كافيه،Russ & Daughters في الجهة الشرقية السفلى الاحتياطية لأكثر من قرن. انضم إلى مزيج انتقائي من السكان المحليين المخلصين والسياح الفضوليين في الطابور لاكتشاف كل هذه الضجة.

احصل على بداية مناسبة في نيويورك لعطلة نهاية الأسبوع مع وجبة الإفطار الكلاسيكية: الخبز مع لوكس وشمير. قد يقودك الخط الذي يتسلل إلى أسفل الكتلة إلى التساؤل عما إذا كنت قد عثرت على شخص مغرور صاخب يتجه حديثًا مع مجموعة تيك توك، ولكن في الواقع كان كافيه، Russ & Daughters في الجهة الشرقية السفلى الاحتياطية لأكثر من قرن. انضم إلى مزيج انتقائي من السكان المحليين المخلصين والسياح الفضوليين في الطابور لاكتشاف كل هذه الضجة.

الوِجهة

في مبنى نابض بالحياة في نوليتا ("شمال ليتل إيتالي") ، يتميز الشيف سيدريك فونجريشتن وايان بتصميمات داخلية أنيقة ومزاجية تجعلك ترغب في الاستقرار لفترة من الوقت - فكر في ألواح خشب الساج وأعمال مطاحن الزجاج الكهرماني والنباتات الاستوائية والبلاط الرخامي و الإضاءة الخافتة المفلترة من خلال تركيبات قلادة شبكية. في الداخل ، يمزج فونجريشتن بين النكهات الإندونيسية والفرنسية لإنشاء أطباق مقنعة: جرب السلطعون المقرمش ذو القشرة الناعمة مع السامبال المنحدر، والبط الجاف مع صلصة الجولاي ورقائق اللوتس، أو المواد الغذائية المحببة مثل ناسي جورينج وأرز السلطعون المقلي. ولكن مهما فعلت، لا تفوّت النودلز اللذيذة والمليئة بالزبدة - واعلم أنك لن ترغب في مشاركتها.

جديد

يتمتع مطعم سونا الهندي الجديد الصاخب ببعض قوة النجوم المميزين وراءه (ممثلة بوليوود وهوليوود كروس بريانكا تشوبرا شريكة جوناس) ، لكن النجمة الحقيقية هنا هي قائمة طعام الشيف هاري ناياك المرحة، لكنها راقية. احصل على لقطة جولجابا لبدء الأمور بضربة واحدة، ثم شق طريقك من خلال تحميص سمن الأخطبوط، وسرطان البحر مع الكافيار، وغرويير دوسا، كل ذلك داخل غرفة الطعام المستوحاة من فن الآرت ديكو في سونا. لاحظ الزخرفة المذهبة الأنيقة: سونا تعني "الذهب" باللغة الهندية، بعد كل شيء.

ماذا ستفعل

الأيقونة

أفضل المناظر للمدينة من المياه المحيطة بها. لحسن الحظ، تمتلك نيويورك شبكة عبّارات واسعة (وغير مكلفة) لمساعدتك في تحديد كل زاوية مغرية، في طريقك إلى الشواطئ والحدائق على ضفاف النهر وتمثال الحرية والمزيد. للقيام برحلة قصيرة سريعة، ضع في اعتبارك الانتقال إلى جزيرة جوفيرنوس، حيث يمكنك الركوب على طول مسارات الدراجات، والتحقق من المنشآت الفنية، والاستمتاع بعروض شاحنات الطعام التي لا نهاية لها. لا توجد خيارات خاطئة هنا، بدءًا من سندويشات التاكو إلى الدجاج الحار إلى الآيس كريم المستوحى من الهند.

الوِجهة

عادت التسلية المحبوبة في نيويورك. بعد أن حل الظلام لمدة عام ونصف، أصبحت خشبات مسارح برودواي جاهزة للترحيب بالمستفيدين المتحمسين مرة أخرى هذا الخريف. نظرًا للطلب، قد يكون من الصعب الحصول على التذاكر، لذا خطط مسبقًا. في هذا الموسم، ستنضم المنتجات المفضلة منذ فترة طويلة مثل "هاملتون" و "فانتوم أوف ذا أوبرا" و "ويكيد" من خلال إنتاجات جديدة ومثيرة بما في ذلك "ديانا الموسيقية" و "ستة".

جديد

من أعمال شكسبير في المنتزه في الهواء الطلق في الصيف إلى أرض العجائب الثلجية في الشتاء، يجب زيارة سنترال بارك في أي وقت من السنة. لكنها تتألق بشكل خاص في الخريف، عندما تتحول 843 فدانًا من الأشجار إلى ظلال لامعة من الذهب والزعفران والقرمزي. واحدة من أفضل الطرق لتغطية الامتدادات الكبيرة في وقت محدود هي استئجار دراجة ورحلة بحرية عبر نافورة بيثيسدا وقلعة بيلفيدير وحديقة حيوانات سنترال بارك وحقول الفراولة وخزان جاكلين كينيدي أوناسيس ومعالم المنتزهات الأخرى.

العودة إلى الأعلى

نشكرك لإشتراكك معنا!

الآن: انقر فوق "إنشاء حساب" أدناه، و سرعان ما ستكون عضوًا.

Enjoy Free Shipping On Orders Value Above 800 SR

The Cole Haan Guide to New York City
We sat down with the creative polymath, and illustrator of our newest #WriteNewRules campaign, to discuss his process, the rules he lives by, and the place in Paris he’s missed most.
By Sarah Khan

New York is famously called the city that never sleeps, but what precisely is it about New York that paints a kinetic tableau at any hour of the day or night? Is it the skyline, forever glinting in the sun or lit up in an electrifying display after dark? Is it the people, who stride its broad boulevards with purpose no matter the hour? Or perhaps it’s simply something intangible steeped in the atmosphere, as Simone de Beauvoir once speculated: “There is something in the New York air that makes sleep useless.”

So how should you spend a sleepless few days in New York this fall? We have a few ideas.

All Illustrations by Russ Pope

What to See

Icon

“When I was five years old I went to kindergarten, and at kindergarten we had an exercise where we were all supposed to draw some Easter themed drawing. I remember as a five-year-old I drew this rabbit. My mom came to pick me up. The teacher hands you—literally delivers you by hand to your mother—and says, ‘Russell, is a really great artist. Look at this beautiful rabbit drawing, this bunny that he drew.’ And I was like, I’m an artist…she just said it, I’m totally an artist.”

Go-To

With two million square feet to explore, you could return to the Metropolitan Museum of Art a dozen times and still uncover masterpieces you’ve never come across before. This fall, in addition to checking out long-standing favorites like the Egyptian Art and the Islamic galleries, save plenty of time to browse the Costume Institute’s new exhibition: “In America: A Lexicon of Fashion.” This eagerly awaited exhibit will take a deep dive into the nation’s sartorial history.

Newbi

New Yorkers descended on the city’s outdoors spaces in unprecedented numbers during the pandemic, and this spring they got a new place to soak up the sun: Little Island, a striking public park hovering above the Hudson River at Pier 55. The $260 million development—originally conceived by celebrated British architect Thomas Heatherwick—has been years in the making, but the result was worth it. Make sure to check their schedule for the most up-to-date info on outdoor performances, or just go for a stroll through the botanic gardens.

What to Eat

Icon

Get a proper New York start to your weekend with the classic breakfast staple: a bagel with lox and schmear. The line snaking down the block might lead you to wonder if you’ve stumbled onto a buzzy upstart that’s newly trending with the TikTok set, but in reality, Russ & Daughters has been a Lower East Side standby for more than a century. Join an eclectic mix of loyal locals and curious tourists in line to discover what the fuss is all about.

Get a proper New York start to your weekend with the classic breakfast staple: a bagel with lox and schmear. The line snaking down the block might lead you to wonder if you’ve stumbled onto a buzzy upstart that’s newly trending with the TikTok set, but in reality, Russ & Daughters has been a Lower East Side standby for more than a century. Join an eclectic mix of loyal locals and curious tourists in line to discover what the fuss is all about.

Go-To

On a vibrant block of Nolita (“North of Little Italy”), chef Cédric Vongerichten’s Wayan has chic, moody interiors that make you want to settle in for awhile—think teak panels, amber glass millwork, tropical plants, marble tiles, and dim lighting filtered through latticed pendant fixtures. Inside, Vongerichten blends Indonesian and French flavors to create compelling plates: Try the crispy soft-shell crab with ramp sambal, dry-aged duck with gulai sauce and lotus chips, or beloved staples like nasi goreng and crab fried rice. But whatever you do, don’t miss the buttery, indulgent lobster noodles—and know that you won’t want to share.

Newbi

The buzzy new Indian eatery Sona has some serious star power behind it (Bollywood-Hollywood crossover actress Priyanka Chopra Jonas is a partner), but the real star here is chef Hari Nayak’s playful, yet refined, menu. Have a golgappa shot to start things off with a kick, then work your way through the octopus ghee roast, crab puri with caviar, and gruyere dosa, all inside Sona’s Art Deco-inspired dining room. Take note of the elegant gilt trimmings: Sona means “gold” in Hindi, after all.

What to Do

Icon

The best views of the city are from the water surrounding it. Luckily, New York has an extensive (and inexpensive) ferry network to help you scope out every alluring angle, en route to beaches, riverside parks, the Statue of Liberty, and more. For a quick jaunt, consider hopping over to Governors Island, where you can ride along bike paths, check out art installations, and graze on the endless food truck offerings. From tacos to jerk chicken to Indian-inspired ice cream, there are no wrong choices here.

Go-To

New York’s most beloved pastime is back. After going dark for a year and a half, Broadway stages are ready to welcome eager patrons again this fall. Given the demand, tickets might be hard to come by, so plan well in advance. This season, longtime favorites like “Hamilton,” “Phantom of the Opera,” and “Wicked” will be joined by thrilling new productions including “Diana the Musical” and “Six.”

Newbi

From alfresco Shakespeare in the Park productions in the summer to a snowy wonderland in the winter, Central Park is a must-visit any time of year. But it’s especially resplendent in the autumn, when its 843 acres of trees turn brilliant shades of gold, saffron, and scarlet. One of the best ways to cover large stretches in a limited time is to rent a bike and cruise past the Bethesda Fountain, Belvedere Castle, Central Park Zoo, Strawberry Fields, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Reservoir, and other park landmarks.

Back to top

Thanks for signing up!

Now: Click “Create Account” below, and you’ll be a member before you know it.