تعرف على الفنان: روس بوب
جلسنا مع روس بوب، المثقف المبدع و رسام حملتنا العصرية # كتابة_القواعد الجديدة. لمناقشة أعماله، والقواعد التي يعيش وفقًا لها، والمكان الذي افتقده في باريس أكثر من غيره.

مستوحاة من فنانين أسطوريين مثل شاول شتاينبرغ و روبرت سيرل، ناهيك عن السنوات التي قضاها كمتزلج محترف، تلتقط الشخصيات الإيمائية لـ روس بوب والمشاهد روح الدعابة والحميمية وعدم القدرة على التنبؤ الموجودة في الحياة اليومية. هذا المنظور الفريد، بالإضافة إلى قدرة عمله الفنية القوية على التواصل مع الناس، جعله الفنان المثالي لتجسيد احتفال كول هان بالتقدم و التميز هذا الخريف. من منزله في نيو هامبشاير الساحلية، تحدث لنا روس عن كل شيء بدءًا من رسم الأرنب الذي بدأ مسيرته به، إلى إعتباره القاعدة رقم واحد للفنانين الشباب.

أين يجد الإلهام.

"عندما كنت في الخامسة من عمري، ذهبت إلى روضة الأطفال، وفي روضة الأطفال كان لدينا تمرين حيث كان من المفترض أن نرسم بعض الرسم الذي يحمل طابع عيد الفصح. أتذكر عندما كنت في الخامسة من عمري رسمت هذا الأرنب. جاءت أمي لاصطحابي. يسلمك المعلم - حرفياً يسلمك باليد إلى والدتك - ويقول ، "راسل، فنان رائع حقًا. انظر إلى رسم الأرنب الجميل هذا، هذا الأرنب الذي رسمه. "وكنت مثل، أنا فنان ... لقد قالها للتو، أنا فنان حقا."

كيف كانت بداياته

"كما تعلم، هناك دائمًا شيء ما يحدث في وقت العشاء. في بعض الأحيان عندما أكون مرهق، تصبح مجرد صورة أرسمها في تلك الليلة عندما أعود وأتناول بعض المشروبات. لكن وقت الغداء، أرسم دائمًا. أنا متأكد من أن عائلتي، عندما يكونون معي، سئموا من نظراتي و أنا أرسم رسومات لهم وهم يأكلون ويشربون أو رسم رسومات للمنطقة ".

ماذا يعني إبداع الفن بالنسبة له.

"إذا سألتني قبل عشر سنوات كنت سأقول ، إنه مجرد -شيء تافه. لكني أعرف حقيقة، بسبب التذكيرات اليومية من الناس، كم يعني ذلك بالنسبة لهم. أعتقد أنه أمر خاص للغاية، وأنا ممتن جدًا لأنني أستطيع أن أفعل شيئًا يجلب الفرح للناس. وسواء أكان ذلك صريحًا أم غير علني، يمكنني أن أنظر إلى الوراء إلى العمل ويعيدني إلى تلك النقطة في الوقت الذي ألهمني فيه صنع كل ما كان عليه. سواء كان ذلك من رحلة إلى لشبونة مع عائلتي أو رحلة إلى موسكو في شاحنة محملة بثمانية عشر متزلجًا ".

عن حبه للبطاقات البريدية.

"جاء ذلك بالتأكيد من التزلج على الألواح وثقافة الزين. بالنسبة لي، إنها طريقة أسهل وأسرع وأكثر واقعية للتواصل مع بعضنا البعض. وكان ذلك حقًا لأنه لم يكن هناك، كما تعلمون، رسالة نصية أو رسالة مباشرة أو أي شيء من هذا القبيل. هذه هي الطريقة التي قابلت بها أشخاصًا بصفتي متزلجًا على الألواح. كنا نتبادل العناوين ونقدم الملصقات من الشركات التي تزلجنا لصالحها وسنبقى أسرع من كون صداقة إلى الأبد. ما زلت أتبادل البطاقات البريدية مع مجموعة كبيرة من هؤلاء الناس اليوم. إنه شعور بالحرية ".

لماذا كان يتزلج دائمًا.

"عندما كنت في الخامسة من عمري، صنع والدي أول لوح تزلج لي، صنع لي هذا اللوح يدويًا ورسمه. ذهبنا إلى متجر الألعاب هذا الذي يعمل كمتجر لأدوات التزلج واشترينا محامل كروية غير محكمة الإغلاق قام بالضغط عليها وصفيحة من شريط الإمساك. وبعد ذلك لم أتوقف عن التزلج. كانت أمي تأخذني إلى المسابقات وتنزلني عندما لم أكن كبيرًا بما يكفي للقيادة ... سانتا كروز، ديربي بارك. لقد كنت أتزلج على الألواح منذ أن كنت في الخامسة من عمري وبدأت أسافر للمشاركة في المسابقات والعروض التوضيحية عندما كان عمري 14 عامًا - والآن أبلغ من العمر 50 عامًا. "

كيف أنشأ علامته التجارية لألواح التزلج ، وحدة المواصلات.

"كان لدي عرض فني وأخذت المال من إحدى اللوحات التي بيعت واشتريت مجموعة من الألواح. وقد تم بيعها على الفور، واستمر الأمر في الازدياد، ولا يزال كذلك. لقد وقعت للتو اتفاقية جديدة مدتها سنتان مع موزع في كاليفورنيا حصل على ترخيص لها، ولدي كامل الصلاحية، وسأواصل الاحتفاظ بملكيتها ".

ماذا تعني له #كتابة_القواعد الجديدة.

"كان هذا مثيرًا للاهتمام حقًا لأن كول هان جاء إلي وكان فرصة لأكون قادرًا، من خلال الرسومات، على إظهار وجود الناس مع بعضهم مرة أخرى، والمدن أصبحت مدنًا مرة أخرى. كما تعلم، مثل القدرة على رسم المدن التي كان يسكنها أشخاص وأشخاص يجلسون على مقاعد المتنزه معًا، فإن هذا يحدث بالفعل مرة أخرى. ومن الرائع أن تكون قادرًا على فعل ذلك، مثل الاحتفال بالحرية دون أن تبدو مبتذلًا. احتفل بالحرية واحتفل بالتفاؤل واحتفل بالأفكار و الإبداعات الجديدة. "

ماذا تعني له #كتابة_القواعد الجديدة.

"كان هذا مثيرًا للاهتمام حقًا لأن كول هان جاء إلي وكان فرصة لأكون قادرًا، من خلال الرسومات، على إظهار وجود الناس مع بعضهم مرة أخرى، والمدن أصبحت مدنًا مرة أخرى. كما تعلم، مثل القدرة على رسم المدن التي كان يسكنها أشخاص وأشخاص يجلسون على مقاعد المتنزه معًا، فإن هذا يحدث بالفعل مرة أخرى. ومن الرائع أن تكون قادرًا على فعل ذلك، مثل الاحتفال بالحرية دون أن تبدو مبتذلًا. احتفل بالحرية واحتفل بالتفاؤل واحتفل بالأفكار و الإبداعات الجديدة. "

مكان لا يطيق الانتظار لزيارته

"لافونتين دي بيلفيل [في باريس]. إنه رائع. يعزفون موسيقى الجاز هناك ليلتان في الأسبوع. لديهم مجموعة صغيرة لطيفة من طاولات المقاهي الكلاسيكية، ليست عميقة جدًا، وليست فخًا سياحيًا مكتظًا؛ يذهب السكان المحليون إلى هناك. لديهم أيضًا بار كامل الخدمات، حتى يتمكنوا من إعداد سبريتز أو نيجروني على الإفطار، إذا كنت تريد ذلك. لذلك، على أي حال، إنه مكان جيد للذهاب إليه وتناول القهوة قبل أن تنتقل إلى المشروبات الغازية طوال اليوم ".

العودة إلى الأعلى

نشكرك لإشتراكك معنا!

الآن: انقر فوق "إنشاء حساب" أدناه، و سرعان ما ستكون عضوًا.

العربية

Enjoy Free Shipping On Orders Value Above 800 SR

Meet the Artist:Russ Pope
We sat down with the creative polymath, and illustrator of our newest #WriteNewRules campaign, to discuss his process, the rules he lives by, and the place in Paris he’s missed most.

Inspired by legendary artists like Saul Steinberg and Robert Searle, not to mention his years as a professional skateboarder, Russ Pope’s gestural characters and scenes capture the humor, intimacy, and unpredictability found in everyday life. That unique perspective, plus his artwork’s powerful ability to connect people, made him the perfect artist to illustrate Cole Haan’s celebration of progress this fall. From his home in coastal New Hampshire, Russ spoke to us about everything from the rabbit that kick started his career, to his number one rule for young artists.

Where he finds inspiration.

“When I was five years old I went to kindergarten, and at kindergarten we had an exercise where we were all supposed to draw some Easter themed drawing. I remember as a five-year-old I drew this rabbit. My mom came to pick me up. The teacher hands you—literally delivers you by hand to your mother—and says, ‘Russell, is a really great artist. Look at this beautiful rabbit drawing, this bunny that he drew.’ And I was like, I’m an artist…she just said it, I’m totally an artist.”

How he got started.

“You know, there is always something that happens at dinnertime. Sometimes when I’m exhausted, it just becomes a photo that I draw that night when I get back and I’m having some drinks. But at lunch I’m always drawing. I’m sure my family, when they’re with me, are sick of me looking at them and making drawings of them eating and drinking and stuff, or of the area.”

What creating art means to him.

“If you asked me ten years ago I would have said, it’s just s—t. But I do know for a fact, because of the daily reminders from people, how much it means to them. I think it’s very special, and I’m very grateful that I can do something that brings people joy. And whether it’s overt or not overt, I can look back to the work and it brings me back to that point in time when I was inspired to make whatever it was. Whether it was from a trip to Lisbon with my family or a trip to Moscow in a van loaded with eighteen skateboarders.”

On his love of postcards.

“That for sure came from skateboarding and the zine culture. To me, it’s an easier, quicker, more realistic way to communicate with each other. And it really was just because there wasn’t, you know, text or DM or anything like that. That’s how I met people as a skateboarder. We’d exchange addresses, give stickers from the companies that we skated for, and we’d be fast friends forever. I still exchange postcards with a chunk of those people today. It’s wild.”

Why he’s always been skating.

“When I was five my dad made my first skateboard, he hand-built me this board and painted it. We went to this toy store that doubled as a skate shop and bought non-sealed ball bearings that he pressed in and a sheet of grip tape. And then I never stopped skating. My mom would take me to contests and drop me off when I wasn’t old enough to drive…Santa Cruz, Derby Park. I’ve been skateboarding since I was five and started traveling for contests and demos when I was 14—and now I’m 50.”

How he created his skateboard brand, Transportation Unit.

“I had an art show and I literally took money from one of the paintings that sold and I bought a run of boards. And they were gone instantly, and it just kept on getting bigger, and it still is. I just signed a new two-year deal with a distributor in California that’s licensed it, and with me in complete creative control, and I will continue to retain ownership of it.”

What #WriteNewRules means to him.

“This was really interesting because Cole Haan came to me and it was an opportunity to be able, through drawings, to show people being with people again, and cities being cities again. You know, like being able to draw cities that were populated with folks and people sitting on park benches together, cause that’s actually happening again. And it’s cool to be able to do that, like celebrate freedom without sounding corny. Celebrate freedom, celebrate optimism, celebrate new thoughts and ideas.”

What #WriteNewRules means to him.

“This was really interesting because Cole Haan came to me and it was an opportunity to be able, through drawings, to show people being with people again, and cities being cities again. You know, like being able to draw cities that were populated with folks and people sitting on park benches together, cause that’s actually happening again. And it’s cool to be able to do that, like celebrate freedom without sounding corny. Celebrate freedom, celebrate optimism, celebrate new thoughts and ideas.”

Where he can’t wait to visit.

“La Fontaine de Belleville [in Paris]. It’s cool. They play jazz music there a couple nights a week. They have a nice little set of classic cafe tables, not too deep, not a packed tourist trap; the locals go there. They also have a full-service bar, so they can make you a spritz or a negroni for breakfast, if you want that. So anyway it’s a good place to go and get juiced up with coffee before you transition to spritzes all day.”

Back to top

Thanks for signing up!

Now: Click “Create Account” below, and you’ll be a member before you know it.